Narcissism

DSCN3470
I’m the best bug in the room.

Ugh… fucking narcissism… I hate it. Not sure why I am a magnet for it, but I am and it royally pisses me off ungodly.  I think everyone has tendencies toward narcissism… we all need a healthy level of it to be able to take care of us… but what the hell, man.

In case you didn’t know, the term ‘narcissism’ comes from the Greek god Narcissus and basically means: a fixation with oneself and one’s physical appearance.

Me. Me. Me.  What’s in it for me.  What can I get to make my life better.  Let’s talk about me.  But on the flip side of that… it’s only the ‘good feels’ that these fuckers like.  Tell them they did something wrong, or hurt you, or were incorrect and holy effing shit!!  Duck, because the wrath, it is a coming.

narcissism-101

That little Progressive Insurance Box in the commercials is a narcissist.  But that is funny, well, because boxes aren’t fucking alive and shit.

Is it uncomfortable to be wrong? OF COURSE IT IS.  No one wants to be wrong.  Ever. Being wrong isn’t fun. But I can’t see how being right (or thinking I am right) all the time would be fun, either.  If I am right all the time, how would I learn anything…?  I couldn’t because if I am always right, then that means I know everything.

It’s all just ridiculous.

Communicating with a narcissist is impossible.  I had a couple books on how to deal with narcissists, but I gave them to a friend of mine, because she was knee deep in a relationship with one and I was at the tail end of a relationship with one.  So, I kind of felt like she needed them more than I did.

This is what I learned from that relationship:

Forget about talking about feelings.  They hate that.

Forget about bringing up even the tiniest infraction they may have committed (this includes: leaving a pair of dirty socks on the floor or forgetting to take the trash out).

They have a separate set of rules:

“It is okay for me to do ‘xyz’ but no, you can’t do ‘xyz’ because that makes you an asshole.”

“It’s okay for me to not write down who called… you better write down who called or I’ll sick the ‘silent scorn’ on you for two days!”

So that’s where it is for now… Just took a break from writing to paint the ‘bug’ up at the top of this post.  Time for some fresh air. It is actually above fifty degrees here tonight!

Peace.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Narcissism

  1. Much truth. Co-habiting with a narcissist is to be controlled or live on a constant war footing. Engaging them in conversation about their abuse is like stepping into a courtroom somewhere in the Twilight Zone. Suddenly up becomes down, black becomes white, the tables mysteriously turn and you find that, despite your foolish previous notions, it was in fact you who were at fault all along. And then if it wasn’t bad enough already, you find yourself in an escalating vendetta situation. They’re a lot of fun to be around. I’d highly recommend it.

    Like

    1. They are definitely a hard pill to swallow… the thing with them is… they just sneak right in on us and before we know it we are knee deep in a black hole of frustration, chaos and calamity.
      I detect sarcasm at the end there…
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your SARCDAR is on the money 😀
    Yes, these people are like mind game ninjas. We’re in their game long before realise it, and regardless of whether we wanted to play or not.
    They should round up all of these assholes and parachute them into Syria. ISIS would be confused dribbling wrecks within a fortnight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

